What will You bring about in 2021 Part III

How will you interact with others?

I introduced you, briefly, to the Yamas (how you interact with others) and the Niyamas (how you take care of yourself) in the second post in this series here.

Now it’s time to learn about the Yamas.

The Yamas


Ahimsa is often defined as non violence. Some Yogis take this to mean you should become vegetarian. Some take it a step further, believing that everything should be treated with non violence: your car, the doors you shut, plants — you get the picture.

Ahimsa can also be interpreted as:

  • Kindness
  • Being open-hearted
  • Being empathetic
  • Self love
  • Compassion

To enjoy this Yin Yoga practice focusing on Ahmisa, which is also a full body stretch, click here.


Satya is most often interpreted as truthfulness. Not just speaking the truth, but knowing what feels right in your bones. Living that truth.

You may be working at a job that doesn’t really feel like “the one”. Is it time to change jobs? Is it time to change careers?

Maybe it’s time to come to terms with the truth of why you chose — and stay with — this job. There are many valid reasons to work at a job you don’t love, but there is no valid reason to not love the job you have.

When it comes to Satya and little white lies, Ahimsa (first do no harm) takes precedence. Always think about whether or not the truth will ultimately hurt the person you tell it to.

In my own life, there are some things I haven’t told my 92 year old mom (lying by omission) because I know that it would needlessly worry her.


Asteya is often viewed as non stealing. Non stealing (like many of the Yamas) seem like a no brainer, right?

What if you’re a chronically late person? Are you stealing time from the person you’re meeting? What if your spouse is speaking to you — but you’ve got you’re face buried in your phone? What are you stealing from your spouse in that case?

You can also consider Asteya to mean being generous with:

  • Your time
  • Your money
  • Your attention
  • Your heart


Brahmacharya was often defined as celibacy for ancient Yogis. A more modern interpretation might be moderation.

  • Are your closets bursting with clothes?
  • Do you mindlessly snack until you’re over full?
  • Do you find yourself hoarding something because you’re afraid you won’t be able to restock?

Aparigraha can be defined as not being greedy or possessive. A more positive spin on Aparigraha is to be aware of your many blessings. When we are satisfied with what we have, we feel free to share our abundance with others.

When we appreciate the abundance in our own lives, we feel more fulfilled — and generous.

Aparigraha may also been viewed as releasing what no longer serves you — whether that’s physicals possessions, habits, feelings, or emotions.

Which Yama do you feel called to work on?

Now that you have a good handle on how to interact with others using the Yamas, it’s time to look at how you treat yourself — and how the Niyamas can help you with your self care in the last post in this series.

Further Reading:

  • The Yamas and Niyamas (Amazon Affiliate link here)
  • The Secret Power of Yoga (Amazon Affiliate link here)
  • Do Your Om Thing (Amazon Affiliate link here)

Disclaimer: if you buy one of these books by using my links, I will make a very small commission.

2021 Intentions 1 | 2021 Intentions 2 | 2021 Intentions 3 | 2021 Intentions 4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: